JEE Main Reservation Criteria 2021 - Seat Reservation,Documents Required

The National Testing Agency releases the reservation criteria for JEE Main that contain category wise percentage of reservation of seats and the conditions of eligibility that the candidates have to Abide by.

JEE Main 2021 Eligibility constitutes reservation criteria for candidates belonging to - Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST), OBC-NCL, Women Candidates, Person with Disability and Economically Weaker Section.

JEE Main Reservation for institutes under Central government

Each Category will have 5% reservation for Person with Disabilities (PwD)
the category wise percentage of reservation via JEE Main is
Categories Reservation Percentage
General Economically Weaker Sections (GEN-EWS) 10 %
Scheduled Castes (SC) 15 %
Scheduled Tribes (ST) 7.5 %
Non Creamy Layer of Other Backward Classes (OBC-NCL) 27 %
Persons with Disabilities 5% in each category

JEE Main 2021 Reservation for Women Candidates

  • A female candidate can apply under the All India Level or Women Quota System since most of the colleges reserve 5% seats for female candidates

  • For PwD students, the relaxation is approximately an additional 3%

Persons with Disabilities (PwD) under JEE Main Reservation Criteria 2021

Candidates who are suffering from 40% or more disability (specified disability) as certified by the certifying authority can claim for benefits from JEE Main 2021 reservation criteria. Given below are the categories of specified disabilities to be considered under PwD category:

  • Blindness and low vision
  • Deaf and hard of hearing
  • Locomotor disability including cerebral palsy, leprosy cured, dwarfism, acid attack victims and muscular dystrophy
  • Autism, intellectual disability, specific learning disability and mental illness
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other `specified disabilities

JEE Main Reservation Criteria for OBC-NCL

There is a list of other backward classes (non-creamy layer) on the website of National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) called as Central list which has to be followed under JEE Main 2021 reservation criteria. Those candidates who fall under this list will be selecting the option of reserved category of OBC while filling the JEE Main application form . Other candidates who fall under OBC list as per the list of their respective states will have to choose the General category.

Clauses for reservation claims

  • It is mandatory to mention the category and its details in JEE Main 2021 Application Form
  • Present the relevant and valid certificates for verification at the time of JEE Main Counselling
  • If a candidate does not provide the required documents - they will be considered under unreserved category

JEE Main 2021 EWS Quota Details

Why behind the step?

  • This move came after the 124th Amendment Bill in the Constitution of India, which was passed in the January session of the Parliament.
  • As per this, 10% reservation in jobs and education belonging to the General quota candidates shall be granted to the EWS candidates.

Who falls under the EWS category?

  • Persons who are not covered under the scheme of reservation for SCs, STs, and OBCs.
  • Whose family has a gross annual income below Rs 8 lakh.
  • The benefit of reservation under EWS can be availed upon production of an Income and Asset Certificate issued by a Competent Authority.

Who can't access the EWS quota?

Regardless of what the family income is, if the candidates fall under any of the following, they can't avail the benefits of EWS quota:

  • Candidates whose families own 5 acres of agricultural land and above.
  • Candidates who own a residential flat of 1,000 sq. ft. and above.
  • Candidates whose parents possess a residential plot of 100 sq. yards and above in notified municipalities.Candidates whose parents possess a residential plot of 100 sq. yards and above in notified municipalities.
  • Candidates whose parents own a residential plot of 200 sq. yards and above in areas other than the notified municipalities..

Documents Required under JEE Main 2021

Just a statement or mere clicking on the reserved category while applying shall not be enough and candidates will be required to provide certain proofs as mentioned below for a claim as per reservation criteria of JEE Main:

  • Category certificate issued in the prescribed format by the competent authority
  • Category certificate issued in the prescribed format by the competent authority
  • Disability certificate issued by the competent authority in case of Persons with disability

JEE Main Reservation Criteria in Institutes of National Importance

There are various institutes that take up admissions into engineering courses through JEE Main, and they have their own reservation criteria. Talking about the Institutes of national importance, given below are the JEE Main 2021 reservation criteria for such institutes:

  • Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) - All the Indian Institutes of Technology are under the central government and thus, they follow the All India Quota while offering admissions into engineering courses.
  • Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) - Admissions into IITs are based on All India Quota as well as Home State and Other State Quotas.
  • Government Funded Technical Institutes (GFTIs) - As per JEE Main reservation criteria in GFTIs, admissions are made on All India Quota basis except for Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra, Ranchi and IIEST Shibpur wherein home state quota and other state quota is applicable, and Assam University, Silchar where home state quota is applicable for candidates belonging to Assam state and others are considered on All India basis.
  • National Institutes of Technology (NITs) - Unlike the IITs, the National Institutes of Technology (NITs) offer engineering admissions as per State Quota and Other State Quota basis.

JEE Main Reservation Criteria 2020: NITs

The National Institutes of Technology (NITs) offer admission to 50% seats on the Home State Quota basis and for remaining 50% seats on Other State Quota basis.

Note: For States and Union Territories without NIT, the following NITs will be considered as their state quota.

NITs Union Territories
NIT Puducherry Andaman & Nicobar Islands
NIT Goa Lakshadweep
NIT Goa Daman and Diu
NIT Goa Dadar and Nagar Haveli
NIT Delhi Chandigarh

For NIT Goa and NIT Warangal, the reservation criteria are as under:

NIT Warangal:
  1. Home State Quota - Candidates whose home state is Telangana can apply for admission under this quota.
  2. Other State Quota - Candidates who belong Andhra Pradesh and other states can apply for admission under this quota.
  3. Andhra Pradesh Quota - Candidates whose home state is Andhra Pradesh can apply for admission under this quota.

  1. Home State Quota - 40% of those candidates will be considered whose home quota state is Goa and in case, there are vacant seats, 10% seats will be filled by candidates from Daman & Diu, Dadar & Nagar Haveli and Lakshadweep.
  2. Other State Quota - Candidates who belong to Daman &Diu, Dadar & Nagar Haveli and Lakshadweep can apply for admission under this quota